On the results of the elections in Somalia

Somalia's newly elected President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud, right, holds hands with incumbent President Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed, left after winning the elections in Mogadishu, Somalia, May 16, 2022 [Feisal Omar/ Reuters]

On the night of May 15-16, 2022, the national elections ended in Somalia. Initially, they were supposed to take place almost a year and a half ago. The reason for the repeated postponements and slow conduct of the electoral process, as before in the modern history of the country, was the fierce struggle that unfolded between various political groups and clans for power in the country.

As a result, instead of November 2020, the election process started only on July 29, 2021, with the election of the first four deputies of the upper house (Senate) of the Somali Parliament in Kismayo. Recall that according to the Interim Constitution and the decisions of the National Consultative Council (NCC) dated 17.9.20 and 27.5.21 on the procedure for holding elections, 54 deputies were elected to the Senate: 8 representatives from the federal regions (FR) of Jubaland, South-Western Region, Hirshabelle, Galmudug, and 11 representatives each from FR Puntland and "Somaliland" (the latter actually represent mainly Isak, Samaron and Issa people living in Mogadishu, and not the self-proclaimed Republic of Somaliland). The new senators were elected by the regional parliaments in the respective FR capitals. Following the election of deputies to the upper house of the federal parliament of Somalia, 275 deputies of the lower house were elected by 275 electoral commissions. Deputies to the People's Assembly were to be elected in 11 Somali cities: Mogadishu (from the capital province of Benadir and "Somaliland"), Garowe and Bosaso (from Puntland), Dusamarebe and Galkayo (from Galmudug), Jowhar and Beledweyn (from Hirshabelle), Baidoa and Baraue ( from SWR) and Kismayo and Gharbaharrey (from Jubaland).