2020 General Election in the United Republic of Tanzania

Bernard Membe, John Magufuli and Tundu Lissu lead Tanzania biggest parties. © EPA/GETTY IMAGES

October 28, 2020 citizens of the United Republic of Tanzania (URT) elected the country's President, Deputies to the National Assembly (NA) and to local authorities. This was the eighth multi-party elections in the country, the first took place in October 1995. Each registered political party has the right to nominate one candidate for presidential, parliamentary and local elections. 19 parties participated in 2020 elections.

Full text of the article